23.8 C
Saint Martin
Saturday, January 28, 2023
HomeSPORTSSportsSt. Maarten Dinghy Sailing Season

St. Maarten Dinghy Sailing Season

The final race of the season took place on Saturday June 5. This race was the culmination of the Hope Ross series.

The Season Championship included the Soons series, the Aberson Series, the Hoedemaker series and the National Championships.

Caii Banting – dominated in the Optimist class. Adriaan Coppelmans / Chris de Wilde and Veronica Destin took the next 3 places.

Summer Morton – dominated in the Quest class leaving Arthur Banting and Louka Williams to pick on seldom offered opportunities.

Sam Peeks – dominated in the Laser class. 2nd, 3rd and 4th places were taken by Justin Pieterse, Jordan Pieterse and Emma Lennox respectively.

Robbie Ferron – first in Jeanneau 20’s holding off Ian Hope Ross and Iain Mobbs.

Grant Thornton Season Championship: –

Optimist class – Caii Banting, Adriaan Coppelmans, Chris de Wilde, Veronica Destin.

Pico class – Ajani Blake, Melina de Vries. The big Laser class was won by Frits Bus followed by Jolyon Ferron and Justin Pieterse.

Quest championship – Summer Morton, Arthur Banting.

Jeanneau 20 championship – Robbie Ferron, Garth Steyn, Nils Jannischen.

Many of the youth sailors will be going overseas to study – including Kai Henriques, Caii Banting, Summer Jean Morton, Sahil Khatnani, Chris and Cato de Wilde and Adriaan Coppelmans. They will be missed.

Formal sailing season is over but sailing will continue at the yacht club!

The Lagoonies regatta takes place June 26.

Summer Sailing Camp will start June 27.

Registration is still possible on www.smyc.com/summer-camp



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_img

Most Popular

Recent Comments

Dutch NL English EN French FR Italian IT Spanish ES